Year Recap, 2011

29 Dec

I stole this from Linda, because it’s fun. Hopefully I’m paying close enough attention and make sure to replace all the answers with my own. I’m feeling a little spacey.

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

I got married! And went to Disney World. Hard to say which trumps the other.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t remember making any last year. I will make more for next year. I think they’re fun. I haven’t quite pinned all mine down yet.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Yes, my close friend had her first baby a few days into the year.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No. Good year.

5. What countries did you visit?

Uhm, I pretended to visit TONS of countries in Epcot. This counts, yes? I had a crepe in “France”!

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

More patience. More positive attitude towards my job.

7. What dates from 2005 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

August 13th, wedding day! That’s about it. I’m not really good with “dates” otherwise. I’m barely sure what today’s date is.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I planned my wedding and did a lot of the projects myself. I think that was pretty big. People had fun, that’s the most important thing.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I guess not working harder on keeping a connection with my mother. But I’m still… sad? bitter? disappointed? all of it?

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I did not. I don’t even think I had a cold.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Uhm. My wedding ring? Disney vacation. (Seriously, I’d move into Disney. I’m sad I never got to go as a child.)

12. Where did most of your money go?

Rent. Wedding, honeymoon. That’s a lot.

13. What did you get really excited about?

My wedding, going to Disney World.

14. What song will always remind you of 2011?

… I honestly can’t think of any particular song when I think back on the year. I’ve kind of stopped listening to music. I need to cut that out.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:


– happier or sadder? Happier
– thinner or fatter? Thinner
– richer or poorer? It’s a wash.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?


Been friendlier to random people, started more conversations with people.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?


Anxiousness, panic attacks. Worry and sleepless nights.

18. How did you spend Christmas?

We stayed home, I made a dinner and a ridiculous cake. We exchanged presents two weeks prior because we’re five years old and don’t know how to wait.

19. What was your favorite TV program?

Community, 30 Rock, True Blood, The Wonder Years (yay, Netflix!), Grey’s Anatomy, Modern Family, Glee, Up All Night, The Walking Dead, and way too many cooking/cooking competition shows to count. I need to watch less TV, I’m thinking.

20. What were your favorite books of the year?

The Hour That I First Believed, Wally Lamb. Room, Emma Donoghue. The Hunger Games trilogy. Paint it Black, Janet Finch.

21. What was your favorite music from this year?

I have no idea, really. I’m really liking Adele, Lady Gaga, Sara Bareilles. I’m trying to get back into music. It’s weird.

22. What were your favorite films of the year?

The Muppet Movie was super cute. Bridesmaids. I feel like I didn’t really see a lot of movies.

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 26. I honestly… don’t remember what I did. Oh, my god, why can’t I remember? That means it was probably nothing. Probably I was too concerned about the wedding to bother.

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Perhaps a bit more financial security. But I’m never going to get that (stupid student loans) so I should probably let that one go.

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

“The clothes that are left in my closet because I’m too poor to buy new ones even though most of the current are falling apart/off me” What? Not a concept? I probably need to get a smidgen back into fashion. I miss it.

26. What kept you sane?

My dogs. They’re very calming. Exercise, baking. Which don’t go together but whatever.

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.


That this too shall pass, both good and bad.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

