Hurricane preparedness fail

30 Aug

We sort of thought we were going to have a hurricane there for a minute, and of course we were woefully unprepared. I panic-read so many websites and pamphlets on making a hurricane kit, preparing for many days without electricity or water. However, I had to work so I could not spearhead the trip to the store to create such a kit. This put Husband in charge of going to the store to gather supplies in case we were hit.

Depending on your perspective, it did not go very well. He purchased:

1. Potato chips, tortilla chips, and cheetos

2. Reese’s Puffs, Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Lucky Charms

3. Peanut butter Tastykakes and chocolate cake donettes.

4. Fruit cups

5. A flash light and a radio.

6. Tons of bottled water

To be fair, I have no idea how I would improve this situation. I’m not sure what you’re supposed to eat when you don’t have power. Perhaps this is a legitimate adult hurricane kit? There isn’t a single canned good I can imagine eating cold (baked beans? I’d rather wait for the oven to work again, thanks). And everything I thought of that didn’t require cooking, did require a fridge to keep. (Lunchables! yogurt! no?)

Though, if I did have to deal with a hurricane I guess I’d be worried least of all about the health of the food I needed to eat. I’m actually almost disappointed the hurricane didn’t hit and I didn’t get to tear into all of this. I couldn’t justify it when I had the ability to keep and cook all these stupid fresh vegetables and whatnot.

3 Responses to “Hurricane preparedness fail”

  1. squirrel circus August 30, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    Gallons of water are always my go-to item for impending power loss. I agree with you….I wouldn’t get into canned goods until, um, about two WEEKS without power. If I were you, I would turn off the electric at the main and did into some Cheetos!!!

    • Cally August 31, 2012 at 6:51 am #

      Yeah I think the water is the only thing we really got right. And the cheetos are already half gone. I have horrible self control.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

