Five Makeup Products I Would Make Babies With

6 Nov

1. Tarte Cheek Stain – If I had to pick one makeup product to use from now until the end of time, this would be it. It’s sheer, it blends beautifully. It’s long-lasting. It doesn’t do that annoying blush-thing where the color changes during the day, or where it begins to look like it’s setting on top of your skin. It’s just a perfect, I-jogged-here flush. Also the tube lasts a ridiculously long time. Like I bought it in December. Of 2009. I’m nearly ready for a new tube.

2. Urban Decay Lush Lash Mascara – I have a horrible time with mascara. I wear contacts, so I’m always touching my eyes. I can’t help it. Usually about two hours into wearing mascara I’ve got 90% of it under my eyes. I’d tried waterproof, drug store, high-end, everything migrated. This isn’t technically a waterproof mascara, but it clings to lashes like no other I’ve tried. While this would be enough to send me over the moon, it is also amazing at lengthening and thickening lashes. When I first started to wear it, Husband actually made me look down and took a picture of my lashes with his cell phone – because he thought I just “had to see what they looked like from the top.” That’s worth an award of some kind, I am sure.

3. Bare Escentuals Buxom Lip Polish – Longest lasting lip gloss. In the world. Hands down. It’s supposed to be a lip plumper, but I don’t see much difference when I wear it. It has a cooling tingle as opposed to some of the hotter (one time Lip Venom made me cry) formulas, which is probably why it’s not as effective. However, if you ignore the intended purpose, it’s a non-sticky miracle.

4. Urban Decay Naked Palette – Urban Decay’s eye makeup in general rocks (it’s almost a cliché at this point to go on and on about the primer potion – so I won’t – but I love it, of course) but this palette in particular may be one of my favorite makeup purchases. I’m always shying away from palettes, since for some reason they always have to throw in a random blue/purple/green that ends up languishing on after the other, more wearable colors are long gone. Every single color in this palette is more friendly for the day-to-day, and they’re so much fun to mix and match for different looks. I haven’t had to buy eyeshadow in ages, simply because this is fulfilling all my current eyeshadow needs.

5. Benefit Boi-ing Concealer – I keep trying to find a better concealer, but I keep coming back to Boi-ing. It’s the only one I can use on blemishes and under-eye circles – usually what works under-eye is too creamy for my face, and what works for face is too chalky for the under-eye area. It’s also got some serious coverage power. It reminds me of the cake makeup we used to use in theatre productions in high school – industrial. The formula is smooth. The only downside I see to it is the fact that they only offer three shades. I’m not sure why. It’s fine for me, because I happen to match one of the shades, but I can see it being a big turn off for a lot of customers.

Leave a Reply

