Five Beauty Products I Would Take a Bullet For – Drugstore Edition

13 Nov

1. Sally Hansen Maximum Growth Daily Nail Treatment – I’m a nail biter. So I’ve usually got, at most, nubs of nails. Sure, sometimes I try to paint the nubs and make pretend that I’m a grown-up that doesn’t have annoying habits. Since I’ve been using this daily, my nails are longer, stronger, and more impervious to my biting. So I feel like less of a mess. My hands feel like less of a mess anyway.

2. Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream – Somewhere along the way I moved from biting my nails to biting off my cuticles. It’s disgusting. I know. This thing is a life-saver. If none of my cuticles have any dry parts, it’s impossible for me to attack. I leave this by my computer at work to remember to apply it at least once a day.

3. Earth Therapeutics Happy Face  Complexion Brush – We all know the Clarisonic Mia makes you some sort of skin care goddess, turning your complexion into something worthy of being on the cover of Allure without airbrushing. However, I can not even pretend I’m able to spend over $200 on a brush that I will still have to buy replacement brushes for. This brush may be the manual toothbrush to your Sonicare system, but it works. It’s soft and non-irritating, but it exfoliates wonderfully. I’ve definitely noticed an improvement in pore size and breakouts since I’ve begun using it. And while I might still need some airbrushing for my Allure cover shoot, I’m much happier with my money in my pocket. (Or, Sephora’s pocket. For other things. Whatever. No one ever said I was fiscally responsible.)

4. Frizz Ease Heat Defeat Protective Styling Spray – I usually straighten or curl my hair every day. For a long time. Somehow I never got it through my head that I should be using some sort of protective product. I recently picked this up recently and feel like I’ve definitely been missing out. My hair is shiny, soft, and impossibly straight. The best part is my hair stays straight for well over 24 hours. The next day I only need a few touch-ups and I’m good to go. Less straightening in general, less hair damage overall. Huzzah!

5. Tresemme Fresh Start Dry Shampoo – I also used to wash my hair every day. I know, I know, I get an F in Haircare 101. But the only way my forehead is acceptable for public consumption is with bangs and they would always get so greasy looking, even within 1 day. This dry shampoo allows me to extend my washings, which is turn has cut down the over-all oil production of my hair. You’ve really got to put some elbow grease into brushing it out to avoid the chalky look, but it’s totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

