Books I Will Pretend I Have Not Read If They Come Up In Conversation

27 Nov

1. Twilight – I think it’s safe to say we all pretend we’ve had nothing to do with this series – except it’s a best seller and we all read it. So I’ll continue to feign ignorance if you will. If it helps any, I read it in a Barnes and Noble, so all I paid for was my coffee. But I still feel shame. But not enough shame that I didn’t read the other three books in the series as well.

2. The Notebook – I don’t cop to this one for a very different reason than Twilight. Every woman aged 16 to 60 is in love with this book and movie. I, however, did not see the movie because I hated this book. I hated this book so much I’m actively angry at the amount of time I wasted reading it. I’ll never get that time back and I”m bitter about it. I found it cheesy, predictable, over the top and groan-worthy. But I am alone in this. So it’s easy to claim ignorance.

3. Sex, Lies and Headlocks – This book is about Vince McMahon. As in, World Wrestling Entertainment, Vince McMahon. I think it’s obvious why I pretend to have nothing to do with this one. Less obvious is why I read it in the first place.

4. Pretty Little Liars – Why is teen fiction chasing me? I love the crap out of this series. It was pretty cheesy and off-the-wall, but I was entertained. I’m easily sucked in to series and quick reads. But, c’mon, this is a TV show on ABC Family now. I can’t let it be known I liked it.

5. The Idiots Guide to Nutrition – When I bust out some nonsense on water-soluble and fat-soluble vitamins or essential amino acids, I like to pretend I’m remembering it from the nutrition class I took in undergrad to fulfill some science-or-other requirement. Really, I’m remembering it from this book, which I bought just before the final exam for that class when I was sure I was going to fail. That teacher… she was not good. This book was way more helpful than she was, if a little insulting.

2 Responses to “Books I Will Pretend I Have Not Read If They Come Up In Conversation”

  1. momentsofexhilaration November 28, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    I actually haven’t read any of these books, but I have read every Dan Brown book and I would totally deny that in mixed company. Sometimes you just can’t help yourself!

    Speaking of which, I just gave you a blog award – enjoy! http://momentsofexhilaration.com/2011/11/28/my-very-first-blogging-award/

    • Cally November 28, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

      I actually haven’t read any Dan Brown- I couldn’t make it through the Da Vinci Code movie. But I should really give it a shot- they (typically!) only make a bad movie if it’s a good book.

Leave a Reply

