7 “Secrets”

29 Nov

I was tagged for a blog award – super cute right? Sara tagged me, and obviously since it’s my first time I have to participate. You’re supposed to reveal 7 secrets and tag 15 people.

1. Over the past year, I’ve lost just over thirty pounds. I started in January, all shiny and New Year’s Resolution-y, as a way to get in shape before the wedding. (Could I be any more of a clichĂ©?) Luckily I’ve been able to keep it going after my deadline passed. I am insanely proud of myself, but I talk about it nearly never since weight is such a touchy subject for people. Also, up until about 2 years ago, I was one of “those people” who ate large pizzas and Doritos and was a size two without thinking about it. So I feel that people will feel I don’t really have any ground to stand on – oh, good for you, you lost weight, no one cares! This is likely mostly in my head.

2. I have painfully exact and long-lasting food cravings. When I want pizza, I don’t just want “pizza” I want, say, a ham, green pepper, tomato pizza from the place down the street. Or a Hawaiian from Domino’s. Price isn’t as important as meeting the specific craving. I will want it and become increasingly annoying about it until I get it. Then I need to eat it 3-4 times in a row. I know, you don’t envy my Husband at all right now. If I’m ever pregnant 90% of my time is going to be devoted to what’s likely to be the worst food cravings ever.

3. Speaking of pregnant, I’m also honestly unsure if I ever want to have children. I also don’t talk about that one much, as children seem to be something people are pretty opinionated about as well. The statement itself – “I’m not sure I want to have children” – it’s very polarizing. And those poles are usually me against the rest of the world. I’m never sure what the issue is with it. My choice, whatever it is, does not affect you. Further, isn’t it sort of a big deal that I should be taking seriously, contemplating, debating? So I mostly keep my mouth shut there.

4. I will drop whatever I am doing if Legally Blonde comes on. Every time. I must have seen it over 100 times now, thanks to TBS. I’ll even keep watching it if it’s being aired right after I just watched it. However, I will gladly change the channel when Legally Blonde 2 comes on. And I refuse to even talk about anything that may or may not have happened after that.

5. When I was younger, and actually up until an age that is likely embarrassing to admit, I thought everyone in the world thought in English. That everyone was speaking different languages, but if I could crack their heads open and listen, I’d hear English. Egocentric, no? I don’t know why I thought that made sense, but it was the conclusion I came to… somehow.

6. For 7-8 years, through middle school, high school, and the beginning of college, I was actively involved in theatre and theatre productions at school. I pretty much lived and breathed it. It was my major to start out in college, but I ended up turning a smidgen bitter on it and switched to psychology. I’d like to get involved again, somewhere, in someway. I’m at a bit of a loss how to accomplish that though.

7. Husband and I went to Disney World for our honeymoon. That’s not a secret. I had never been before and I was super excited. What IS a secret – and hella embarrassing, if I do say so myself – was I actually cried when I got to see Cinderella’s Castle up close for the first time. I was just… very overwhelmed. I had hyped it up in my head over a long childhood of never going to the park, and it was everything I wanted it to be. I like to think I played it off well… luckily you’re surrounded by strangers there, so hey, even if someone is judging you? You won’t see them again. Which is also why I wore my mouse ears everywhere I went.

I’m not going to do the taggy bit because I don’t really have anyone to tag! Still a bit new to all of this. But I couldn’t resist writing lists. Ever.

2 Responses to “7 “Secrets””

  1. alifeunlikemine December 7, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    I feel the exact same way on the childhood issue. It’s hard to watch all your kids have little “mini-me” and be left out, but I think in many cases they’re more envious of you without the kids. It’s so much sacrifice…maybe when I’m older and more established.
    People are so rude though if you say you want to remain childless.
    s a woman though, it’s not a duty to pop out a few puppies, it’s a choice.

    • Cally December 7, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

      Exactly! I’m always told, just wait, you’ll grow up and change your mind. Thanks, but I can grow up and keep my opinion too. Very frustrating.

Leave a Reply

