Five products I’ve been disappointed by

4 Dec

1. Urban Decay De-Slick Oil Control Makeup Setting Spray – I had high hopes for this. It does nothing it promises. My makeup disappeared as normal through the day – perhaps faster. Also I get just as oily. Also I’m somehow sticky. It’s just all-around a bad idea. I actually threw it out. And I throw nothing out. I either force myself to use it until it’s gone, or let it collect dust.

2. Studio Gear Matte Foundation – I really want to say I got a bad bottle of this. Other people seem to like it, based on the reviews. I found it horrible. Perhaps too matte? It became dry and streaky almost instantaneously. No matter if I put it on with my foundation brush, a sponge, or my hand. The coverage was horrible and I felt like I had to push to get it to move across my skin. And it flaked off. Big time fail.

3. Benefit Eye Bright – This is a pink stick you’re supposed to use under your eyes. People refer to it as “nap in a stick” and love the crap out of it. I think it makes me look like I forgot where eyeshadow goes. I blend and blend and blend and unless I’ve blended until the colors all gone it’s still very visibly pink. And if I blend until the colors gone well… then I’ve just wasted my time. And I still look tired.

4. Clinique Even Better Clinical Dark Spot Corrector – I used this. Religiously. For months. I took progress pictures. No, you can’t see them. But trust me when I say those were the saddest progress pictures ever. As in there was zero progress. I couldn’t even talk myself into pretending it was working. I have much better things to waste fifty bucks on. Like cake and lattes.

5. InStyler Rotating Iron – It pulled my hair out. And the hair it pulled out wasn’t even straightened.

4 Responses to “Five products I’ve been disappointed by”

  1. alifeunlikemine December 4, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Thanks, I’ll bypass these products!

    • Cally December 4, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

      I really might give the foundation another go- I just can’t imagine something so horrible getting sold and reviewed even remotely well. I think it had to have been a bad bottle. But I don’t want to be wrong, so I’ll probably keep passing it by.

  2. Nikki April 1, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    I’ve been thinking about trying that Clinique dark spot stuff – maybe I should look for a different brand?

    • Cally April 1, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      Ah, I don’t know. I used it faithfully, too multiple before and progress pictures, saw zero result. It also didn’t do anything adverse, and with everyone’s skin being different maybe you’d see an improvement? Perhaps try to con some nice sephora girls out of some sample pots to give it a try before shelling out?

Leave a Reply

