Ch-ch-ch-changes

6 Dec

Husband and I will have lived in Chicago for five years come June. Chicago is lovely, delightful, everything I dreamed it would be. I could wax poetic on Chicago until the end of time. However, it’s expensive. Husband and I are in begrudging agreement that we are not millionaires, and a switch should be made. For the longest time we were just planning on moving back to our home state. It was logical, cheap, the thing to do. Family, friends, emotional support up the wazoo. Possible to buy a house, have a yard. “Settle,” as it were.

Then someone (me) threw out the idea of somewhere else. Somewhere different, exciting. Possibly – dare I say – fun. South Florida. Husband has some family there, we visit from time to time. It’s gorgeous, obviously. It’s also a completely different vibe, different feeling. See, I started to get sort of claustrophobic surrounding the idea of going back to the home state. I know it’s a good idea, overall. I know it’s practical and I know it’s inevitable. I don’t know if it needs to be now though. So maybe, we could live somewhere else, somewhere different, for 2-3 years. Just  because we can. Home state will still be there. I just know that once we move there, it’s sort of over. We’re likely not moving again. So the opportunity to live somewhere else seems a bit more time-sensitive than the opportunity to move back to home state.

So in summary.

Chicago – Pros: In love with it. Feels like home. Already have jobs. Can drive home if needed. Cons: Expensive. I guess there’s some crime or whatever, but I’m really only mentioning that to have a second con.

Home state – Pros: Close to family. Cheaper to live, able to afford more room for selves and dogs. Cons: Soul-sucking abyss. End of the line. Makes me sad. Unsure about job prospects.

Florida – Pros: Change of scenery, sense of adventure. Makes me happy. Cons: So far from home. Not that much cheaper than Chicago. Multiple things (sunburn. hurricanes. have to take a plane to get home.) to be neurotic about. Husband might fall in love with it and never want to leave. Unsure about job prospects.

I’m all over the place. I’ve got very little idea as to what’s the right choice. Our lease in up at the end of April, so there’s time – but not an abundance of it.

Which door, which door…

2 Responses to “Ch-ch-ch-changes”

  1. mzklever December 8, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Austin, Tx is a great place to live. If you live in the suburbs, like Roundrock, it’s super cheap, and downtown is about 15 minutes away. There are lakes and rivers, tons of places to go hiking, an IKEA in Roundrock, South by Southwest (SXSW) (google it if you’ve never heard of it), and some super cool and funky neighborhoods that a bit pricey, but will still be a million times cheaper than Chicago (one of my favorite cities, too!!). If you can get past Rick Perry as governor (we all just ignore him), it’s a lovely place to spend a few years. Plus, it’s only 18 hrs to South Florida from Austin if you’re driving, or Southwest has cheap flights all the time. SUPER cheap flights. And then you don’t have to worry about losing everything you own in a hurricane.

    • Cally December 8, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

      Oh no, don’t give me a fourth option! I can barely juggle my three. 🙂 I’ve definitely wanted to visit Texas, but I think I’d have to fit a visit in before I moved there- I’ve never been. I’m terrified of hurricanes though, so I should probably look a bit further into it.

Leave a Reply

