Notes

15 Dec

I really love the Freshly Pressed feature on WordPress. I like getting random blog posts on tons of topics I wouldn’t normally come across. Recently, I really loved a post from Traci Lee, where she writes her past self a letter. I don’t know that I want to write myself a letter, giving past me too much information could be very dangerous. She’s pretty conniving. Also I don’t think she’d appreciate it and then she’d probably talk about me behind my back. There are a few snippets I wish I could go back and tell her, however, from time to time.

Dear me at 6: You’re being a whiny brat. You demand a lot and you’re terribly manipulative. This is probably why you’re an only child. Who could deal with two of this? Also, just eat the damn vegetables. You’re going to end up liking them anyway. You can’t live on pizza and peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

Dear me at 12: Just go on the camping trip and stop complaining. You go every year and you have fun. You think you’re all grown up and above it, but you’re not. You’re going to look back on all of this fondly. Also, your family is going to eventually fall apart at the seams, so enjoy the happy togetherness while you can. Juuust kidding. (Not kidding. It’s going to be totally sad.) And eat some damn vegetables. You can’t live on pizza and peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. You’re really going to regret this when we gain weight at 23.

Dear me at 14: There’s more to life than grades and perfection and being the teacher’s pet. A lot more. The one thing you’re really going to regret from your childhood is the fact you were fairly conservative in most things you did, always the voice of reason and rules. Loosening up a bit would probably  get you some fun memories. And I’m really starting to get pissed about the vegetables.

Dear me at 16: That boy is trouble for you. You’re going to date him anyway. That’s okay. Don’t stress about it so much. Everyone needs a little drama. And cheer up a little bit. Sure, people are annoying when they say this is the best time of your life. You’re totally right, it’s not. But you will miss it, even when it’s horrible.

Dear me at 18: That boy is trouble for you. You’re going to date him anyway. That’s okay. Don’t stress about it so much. Also, student loan money isn’t pretend. It’s very real and very frightening. I really wish you would take it seriously.

Dear me at 19: That boy is not trouble for you. You’re going to date him anyway. That’s okay. Don’t stress about it so much. And thanks about the vegetables.

Dear me at 21: Stop harassing your boyfriend about eating vegetables. It’s terribly hypocritical, as you just started liking them two minutes ago. He’ll come around once you learn how to cook them.  Also, no one likes the girl who wears the heels and skirt to her 8 AM class. Do you not see everyone else in the pajamas? Why is your hair curled?

Dear me at 23: Told you you’d regret the pizza and peanut butter. Thanks for getting your act together, food-wise. You still need to loosen up.

Dear me at 25: Breathe. This too, good and bad, shall pass. Everything you know is different, but that’s okay. If it stayed the same you’d whine you were bored.

Leave a Reply

