New Years Resolutions

1 Jan

I love resolutions. A clean slate, a fresh start. The idea that the entire year is in front of you, with so much to achieve. Also, it’s an opportunity to make a list. I looove making lists. I’m trying to set goals that are clearly defined, numerable, and able to accomplish.

Guitar – Husband bought me a guitar for Christmas. In 2010. I don’t play an instrument, despite a few years of piano lessons as a teenager. I don’t have any jukebox hero dreams going on over here, I’d just like to be able to play a few tunes, learn something new. I had been making headway but the entire idea fell by the wayside. I’d like to practice three times a week.

Reading – I want to read three ridiculously huge, classic books I’ve never read this year. I’m starting with Les Misérables by Victor Hugo. I think the key is to allow myself breaks for fun books as opposed to plowing through without pause. I figure starting with Les Mis is a good idea because I love the musical and know at least part of the story from that. Now I just need to come up with the other two books.

Fitness – I’ve made some great strides for fitness, but I don’t want to stop and let it stagnate. So I’d like to continue with doing some form of exercise three times a week.

Nutrition – I’d like to make a more concentrated effort to cut unnatural substances out of my diet. Sweeteners, preservatives, and the like. I feel better when I eat food I know and understand. That’s not to say Oreos and I will never have another date in the future. Just… fewer dates.

Living arrangements – Come to a decision on where to live. Simple. Clean. And also, required. Further, own that decision. Whichever one I end up making? Will be the right one. I just have to trust me.

Mental Well-Being – I spend a lot of time on the computer at work. I come home and get on the computer. I always have the television on. I check my phone about about 65 times an hour. I want to make a goal to unplug a bit. 30 minutes a day, at least. I have lots I can do. Play with dogs, take a walk, anything but stare at a screen. And showering in the morning doesn’t count for my time.

So I’ve got some things to work on, and I think I should probably look further into why I’m suddenly so obsessed with the number three. Here’s to 2012!

4 Responses to “New Years Resolutions”

  1. squirrel circus January 1, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

    Good luck with those! I’m not going to be able to begin my healthy eating until ALL of the Christmas cookies are gone. The good news is, at the rate I’m going, I’ll be done in a couple of days!

    • lifeloveandbaby January 2, 2012 at 12:06 am #

      Ditto – far too many cookie calories to count!

      • Cally January 2, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

        Uhhh… cookies don’t count… at least not just yet.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. fail whale « Older - January 11, 2012

    […] it looks like I was really, really good at that resolution I made to unplug for everything for at least 30 minutes a day. So fucking good I actually haven’t […]

Leave a Reply

