It’s a glamorous evening for most…

2 Jan

and normally I’d be upstaging the host,
but not this year..

I’m a little bit bummed about how we did/didn’t spend New Year’s Eve. I didn’t get out of pajamas all day. Around 10 PM I started making cupcakes. Midnight came and went with hardly any notice. We watched episodes of The Wonder Years.

It’s been easy to sort of ignore New Year’s. When you grow up with Dick Clark, and the golden Eastern Time Zone, celebrating NYE in CST is a bit disappointing. Sure, you can watch the countdown, 3, 2, 1, Happy… 11 PM. Celebratory calls and texts start coming in early, unfamiliar people are doing the countdown that corresponds to your midnight. It just feels… wrong. I don’t think we’ve done anything for NYE since moving to Chicago.

We could have found something to do, though. The cities full of shows and parties and celebrations. I decided I wanted to do something too late. Most things were sold out or I couldn’t get the money together in time. So I let it fall by the wayside. I told myself I was doing what I always do with holidays, expecting too much, thinking it all needs to be magic and wonder and good times. It’s just another day. It could have been something, though. I could have made it something. It’s okay to celebrate.

I need to learn to go out and get fun. A fabulous party and sparkly dress aren’t just going to show up on my doorstep and ask me out. I need to procure them. So that’s something else I’m vowing to do this year, and going forward. Find fun. Celebrate the things worth celebrating. Pull on the sparkly dress and high heels. Have a good time!

It’s probably my favorite resolution.

2 Responses to “It’s a glamorous evening for most…”

  1. squirrel circus January 3, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    It totally tanked for me after poor Dick had his stroke, whenever that was. We had homemade fun this year, in the form of as many foods as I could make that had wing sauce in them……we had heartburn, too, but it was worth it.

    • Cally January 4, 2012 at 8:02 am #

      That’s true, it’s hard to watch since the stroke. Part of me is happy that he still works it and part of me is just so sad they put him on tv in that condition.

Leave a Reply

