fail whale

11 Jan

So it looks like I was really, really good at that resolution I made to unplug for everything for at least 30 minutes a day. So fucking good I actually haven’t touched my laptop since Sunday.

Except, I admit, a lot of it was naps. I can’t lie. Also a lot of it was me spending hours playing the new Legend of Zelda game for the Wii. Yeah. I’m that kind of nerd. But I don’t care because that shit’s fun as hell. You’re just jealous you’re not the chosen one by the goddess.

January is the busiest time of year at my work, and I sit in front of a computer the whole day. Plus the overtime. By the time I came home I want to throw everything with a screen out the window. I don’t talk on the phone. When my husband comes home I stare at him blankly while he relays stories of his day, glassy-eyed and probably drooling. Next I’m probably going to start hallucinating.

I wish I could say good things about the other resolutions. I.. failed them all the first week. To be fair, some of them are going to take longer – the reading, the decisions. I practiced guitar once. I exercised 3 times. But! It’s okay! Because the point isn’t necessarily to succeed! It’s to persevere in the face of… adversity and… failure… and… we shall overcome…

In case you can’t tell, my brain? Is really fried. I feel like an old tube of toothpaste. Everything that makes sense has been squeezed out of me. I come home, I nest in my bed, I eat a concerning amount of wheat thins. I know that there’s light at the end of the tunnel, that work will level back off and I can function like a normal person again. But in the middle of it all, I can only see the underside of my blanket. And lots of salted snack crumbs.

2 Responses to “fail whale”

  1. squirrel circus January 12, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    I suggest alternating Nilla wafers with the wheat thins…salty AND sweet. Truly satisfying. Hang in there!!

    • Cally January 12, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

      That’s epically smart. It probably balances your brain chemistry when you do something like that. I’ll get right on it.

Leave a Reply

