My dog has a girlfriend

16 Feb

She’s very cute. Her name is Sky. She’s slightly smaller than him, black fur. She has white spots on her chest and paws. We see her sometimes, usually once or twice a week. Yesterday, he saw her on both his morning and nighttime walk. It was a very good day for him. My other dog is nice to her, but it’s clear that he and Sky do not share the deep connection and relationship that Marty and Sky do.

They always do the same thing. Marty usually whines when he sees another dog he wants to greet. When he whines for her, though? It’s insane. It’s so loud and continuous you’d think I was beating him. It’s almost like it causes him physical pain to be able to see her and not run over immediately. Which I, of course, do not let him do because I’m trying my best not to look like a crazy person while I’m teasing my Australian shepherd about his guuuurrlfriend. The closer he gets to her, the more his tail wags. By the time we’re next to her, he’s literally wagging his tail up to his shoulders. They way he’s flying around, butt wiggling back and forth, you’d think he was having a seizure. He is joy personified.

She rolls over and  immediately shows him her belly, which he sniffs up all inappropriate-like. Then she pops up, and they romp around a bit, giving each other doggie kisses and breaking my heart with lethal levels of cute. I’m always the one to end it, dragging Marty away. He continues to whine and cry as long as she’s in his sight, pulling against his leash. If Sky’s owner tries to break up their fun, she throws herself down and goes limp. Peaceful protest.

I want to find a way to convince Sky’s owner we should get them together/let them play longer that doesn’t present itself as me coming on to her. I really don’t think there is a way to accomplish this. There’s little to no protocol surrounding doggie play-dates. It’s slightly more awkward than trying to get a friend for yourself, only slightly less awkward than asking someone out on a real date. So it’s likely their relationship will stay this way, brief meetings on the corner, but I have no doubt that my dog has a girlfriend and it’s endlessly adorable.

Gosh, mom, leave me alone. She’s not my girlfriend, she’s just this girl I know.

7 Responses to “My dog has a girlfriend”

  1. squirrel circus February 16, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Who wouldn’t love that face! One of my best friends is someone “we” initially met at the dog park. After running into each other a few times and seeing that the dogs played well together, I invited them over. Her dog is SO much bigger than Bailey — a Swiss mountain dog, but he totally rolls over for Bailey — I guess it’s a bro-mance. Do you think she has kids? What am I saying? You don’t know this person – ha ha! Just wondering if she’s at a similar place in life.

    • Cally February 16, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      The only things I know about her is her puppy is cute and she wears a green coat. Not the stuff epic friendships are made of. :/

      • squirrel circus February 17, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

        Gotcha. My friend and I did figure out pretty quickly that we both had two boys, etc. After kid play dates, dog dates seem easier – just put a bowl of water out. Ha ha.

      • Cally February 17, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

        All I’ve said to her is I love your puppy. I am not exactly social-savvy. Especially when there are distracting puppies around. To be fair all she’s really said to me is my dog is cute and friendly. Maybe I’ll try harder next time.

  2. Nikki February 17, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    OMG precious picture! I’m in love!

    Love the name Sky too – that’s my boyfriend’s name 🙂
    I need to find my sweet Tilly a boyfriend! Maybe if she could channel her sexual frustrations through a boy dog she wouldn’t be so destructive sometimes.

    • Cally February 17, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

      I agree Tilly needs a boyfriend. I would be more worried about my other dog needing someone too, but I’m arranging a marriage for him with one of my friend’s dogs. They would make gorgeous babies if either were able to do such a thing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Heartbreak « Older - February 28, 2012

    […] we saw her playing. With another dog. Off leash. Some beagle, obviously way less handsome than him. It was […]

Leave a Reply

