Furbaby Friday!

9 Mar

Fur baby Friday!

This picture I am sharing is absolutely one of my favorites. It’s from the day when we adopted our second dog. We’d had Kobe for about a year and a half before starting to think he desperately needed a friend. And by that, I of course mean he was perfectly fine and I wanted another dog to cuddle.I had been stalking the animal shelter here for a few weeks, going in on my lunch breaks and after school playing with puppies. I fell in love with all of them, but I was looking for something specific. I wanted another boy dog, about Kobe’s size. A little more energetic than Kobe, someone to get him off his rather large dog behind from time to time. The boy does love his naps.I didn’t want a puppy (as much as I always want a puppy), so I was aiming for a year or older.

I thought I found it in an absolutely gorgeous German Shepherd. He was all ears and fluff and nearly the same size as Kobe, about a year old. He was named Tyson at the time. I took him for multiple walks, we sat quietly and he got pets. He was very affectionate. We brought Kobe to the shelter or a meet and greet before adopting him. It did not go well. Tyson’s energy at meeting Kobe skyrocketed. He was very pushy, in his face, dominant. Kobe was a very good boy. The behaviorist said she could tell he very much wanted a friend, because he was being overly polite to Tyson’s advances, but that she didn’t think they’d be a good match going forward – too much struggle for dominance. She suggested a female dog.

The behaviorist brought out a cutie, black and white and mixed breed and I named her Maggie the minute I saw her. It, again, did not go well. She was apparently a more dominant female, she would. not. let Kobe sniff her. She kept sitting down and growling at him when he went in. No dice. I was ready to throw in the towel for the day. Meeting two dogs was a lot, there was a good chance Kobe would be worn out and not like any dog going forward. But the behaviorist urged me to try one more she thought might be a good fit. More submissive, smaller, male. Just surrendered and cleared for adoption that day, so he wasn’t even on the floor or on their website yet. We agreed to give it one more try.

And out came our new dog. He was sweet and submissive with random bursts of energy. He came right up to Kobe and declared him King with no question. Kobe actually met him and decided he was the winner before I even lay a hand on him. Tails wagged and kisses were given and a new family member was adopted.

So we brought him home, named him Marty (as in McFly), and it’s clear we made the right choice. They loved each other from the beginning, as evident by this picture, which I think of as Kobe claiming him as his brother. He spent most of that day with a paw or muzzle on him, I guess welcoming him to the family. Or holding him down so Marty couldn’t change his mind. Either way, it’s cute.

7 Responses to “Furbaby Friday!”

  1. Nikki March 9, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    I Love it! They look like best friends! I love how Kobe’s paw is on Marty like um this is my friend.

    • Cally March 9, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      Yeah, Marty is “his” dog. Lol.

  2. Mamarazzi March 10, 2012 at 7:13 am #

    oh yes this is darling…you aren’t going anywhere Marty!!

    popping in via Furbaby Friday!!

    • Cally March 10, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      No, he’s here to stay. 🙂
      I love furbaby Friday!

  3. The Waiting March 10, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    So sweet! There is nothing better than seeing animals who are truly friends with each other. We don’t have any dogs, but my mom has several and I think she could take a cue from you and let the rest of the brood have a meet-and-greet with a potential adoptee if she chooses to get another. The relationship her dogs already have with each other is tenuous, at best.

    • Cally March 10, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      Oh no. I couldn’t stand it if they weren’t friends. I can’t take credit for the meet and greet though- while it makes absolutely perfect sense and I *should* have thought of it, the shelter we adopted Marty from required it.

  4. Mrs. Monologues March 12, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    I love it. Such sweet faces, and love to hear how well they get along.

    I am so sorry that it took me so long to comment on your link up. Thank you for joining in on Fur Baby Friday!!

Leave a Reply

