Juvenile pursuits

20 Mar

I know that it’s no surprise to anyone that technology is advancing faster than anything. It’s common knowledge that the minute you get your new computer home you’re already out of date. Televisions, gaming systems, phones, even books are becoming e-readers – and who could have through you would be able to improve on a book? It’s rapid and every aspect of our life is seeped in technology.

We also have so much more time on our hands now. I know, I know. Speak for yourself,  I’m busy as hell and stressed beyond. But think for just a second about how much we don’t have to do now. We’re not hunting, gathering, defending. Cleaning, prepping, cooking, tending. A lot of the things that we needed to do just to survive in the past have been replaced and outsourced and taken care of. So we need to fill that time, be it with work of a different sort or leisure.

The point of all this is my round about way of confessing I still play a hell of a lot of video games. And the whole thing is starting to feel slightly wasteful. Frolicking in the land of Hyrule is not making progress towards anything. Gathering all the coins might seem like an achievement, but all I’ve done is pass time. I figured I would sort of naturally drift away from such things. When I was a child, it seemed like the line was pretty clear. Video games were for children and then you grew up and had a job and did… adult things? Perhaps I’ve been mislead as to the content of adult things this whole time?

But if you find something is enjoyable, do you just throw it away? Why give up something that helps me destress and provides entertainment. Am I supposed to stare at the wall, all intent and adult-like instead? My favorite games are those with epic story lines – Legend of Zelda, Final Fantasy – is it a waste of time to live out a story line? Would if be a waste of time to read it if it were a book? Perhaps the endless advancement of technology has made video gaming a socially acceptable pursuit for adults. I feel more and more of my generation continues to play video games and it’s fine. I also feel the people I know are likely not the best sample of the population on this topic – I know me a lot of nerds.

Am I just going all vintage me and over thinking it again, or does someone need to step away from the Xbox?

6 Responses to “Juvenile pursuits”

  1. Nikki March 20, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    I’m not a big video game player, but Skye has his moments where he is when a new game comes out. I usually read while he’s playing. However, several years ago they came out with a Sonic the Hedgehog collection for PS3 – just like the old Sega games. I got so obsessed with them and I came home on my lunchbreak everyday to play it until the beat all the games. haha! What a nerd!

  2. squirrel circus March 20, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    Everything in moderation! Don’t be so hard on yourself.

    I remember when Webkinz first came out, Scott and I became so obsessed with the games on the site that we would beg the kids to let us their logins and earn them coins. I completely aggravated the carpal tunnel in my right wrist with too many rounds of Cash Cow and Smoothie Moves!

    I guess bodily injury is a good reason to cut back. Ha ha. Otherwise, play on!

    • Cally March 20, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

      I’ve never had a video game related injury… unless you count things like the Wii/Kinect, which I don’t because it’s not the game’s fault. If I’m standing I’m 80% likely to hurt myself without the help of a video game.

      • squirrel circus March 20, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

        Nice. I’m the same. Back in the late 90s, I took an actual step aerobics class and managed to FLIP a Reebok step and then trip over it.

      • Cally March 20, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

        OHMYGOD. No joke? I did the same exact thing in an aerobics class in college.

      • squirrel circus March 21, 2012 at 8:49 am #

        Totally. Caught the edge of it, instead of center, and flipped that bad boy.

Leave a Reply

