Meat is murder – tasty, tasty murder

2 Apr

I’m normally sort of a hard-ass, the kind of person who will laugh when your kid falls down and make jokes at your expense when attempting to cheer you up. I don’t really cry at movies or get too sad at news stories. If you even hint about hurting any sort of animal, though, I break down into a blubbering, inconsolable mess. An animal gets hurt in the news, in movies, in books, fiction, non fiction, I fall apart.

So, why aren’t I a vegetarian? This is a question I’ve been asking myself on and off for years. I’ve tried from time to time but I never last longer than a day. I’m sure I don’t actually try very hard. The minute dinner shows up my inner Midwestern girl kicks in and throws a hunk of meat at it. I just have no idea what a meal looks like without meat as the star. There are so many reason I want to be a vegetarian. The animal welfare portion of it. The fact that when I tally up my calories for the day, large chunks of my allotment are eaten up by one or two meat products. How much better people who are vegetarians have led me to believe I’ll feel.

Perhaps I just need to take a few steps and make some small changes,. Any move towards progress is better than nothing. I could make more of an effort to eat some meatless meals, try harder for organic and humane meat when it is needed. Except if I am still eating meat, something still had to die. As a society, we’ve decided dogs and cats are not edible. But the truth of the matter is meat is meat, so why has it been decided I cuddle with dogs and nom on cows? Cows, with their big, sad eyes, looking at me, all delicious and whatnot. How did we come to the conclusion that certain things are for food and certain things are not? I very much wish I could be a vegetarian, but I make no steps towards change. So I ignore it, separate the animal from their product. Pretend Essie the cow has nothing to do with my ground beef.

It’s weird to sort of hope for a time when it bothers me enough to make a change, because as it is I know I’ll never push myself do it while I can keep the two separate in my mind. I just… I just like bacon double cheeseburgers too much? Can someone who’s a vegetarian please tell me that it’s actually easy, and I’ll forget how wonderful bacon is in due time?

3 Responses to “Meat is murder – tasty, tasty murder”

  1. squirrel circus April 3, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Ditto the weak spot for animals…..but, also ditto the hankering for a hunk a’ meat. As far as the calories go, I’m far more likely to eat red meat than chicken, and it’s got more calories. It has nothing to do with empathizing with chicken — it’s just that chicken (prior to cooking) completely grosses me out. Uncooked red meat, not so much. Go figure.

    • Cally April 3, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

      I would rather handle red meat raw than chicken. I also can’t stand bones in chicken but mind it less in red meat. Totally illogical.

      • squirrel circus April 4, 2012 at 9:54 am #

        Yes! gnawing away at a chicken leg freaks me out, but BBQ beef and pork ribs totally don’t bother me. I think it’s because chicken often still looks like what it came from, as in, “Looky here, I just ripped this leg off of a chicken”.

Leave a Reply

