My bad luck is valid in Florida as well

13 May

I’m trying to reserve my judgement.

But I’m pretty sure at least nine or ten people are moving into the apartment upstairs from us. And since I assume that isn’t a magical palace apartment, and matches the layout of mine pretty exactly, I am Concerned.

Two women started last night, perhaps around 9 PM. I was already a bit grumpy about this, because I am alone this weekend (Husband is visiting family about five hours away, I stayed here for the dogs) and Marty was losing his ever-loving shit with all the noise they’re making. He’s very protective, especially of me, especially when I am home alone. Which IĀ  love, but it means I don’t sleep. (It also doesn’t help that I sort of didn’t remember I would be home alone this weekend and spent most of the week killing time reading true crime/horrible serial killer stories. So really, I wasn’t sleeping anyway.)

I figured most people would stop moving eventually, since people need sleep, so I went to bed around midnight. They were still at it. And when Marty woke me up with barking fits at two, three, five, seven, and nine. Still at it. I gave up at ten and decided to take the dogs out. Then when I opened my front door I realized why they were able to work through the night. They likely did it in shifts. I counted at least three women and seven men. Three cars and one ginormous U-haul.

They’re friendly people, no doubt. At least half of them have said hello to me, one apologized for the noise. One noticed the Illinois plates on my car, and we talked about Chicago – turns out they just moved from there as well. I am really, really hoping that I’m just jumping to conclusions, and that an appropriate amount of people will be living in the apartment above me and they just have a large family of helpers. But since this is me, I am sure there’s actually about twenty people moving in, and they’re probably going to turn the living room into an all night disco and petting zoo.

Which is actually something I think I’d want to go to, but not something I want to live below.

4 Responses to “My bad luck is valid in Florida as well”

  1. The Waiting May 13, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    As much as I always say that I never want to own a home, living in apartments sucks sometimes. I hope your new neighbors turn out to be not as insane as their moving-in-during-the-middle-of-the-night would indicate :/

  2. squirrel circus May 13, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    Ah, first impressions. They MAY end up being a very nice AND right-sized family, but there is NO good reason to continue moving in ALL night! Marty’s reaction totally reminds me of the day that we had our garage door openers replaced, which was right under my home office. Bailey was having a fit trying to pounce through the floor to get at the noise. šŸ˜‰

    • Cally May 14, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

      Oh gosh, I don’t think I would have been able to stand the cuteness of the dog trying to get through the floor.
      It appears it may only be three people, which is reasonable. But I’m still reserving judgement. They might be hiding.

Leave a Reply

