Say hello to my little friend

15 May

I am undeniably, unapologetically, unabashedly in love with the tiny lizards that are running around all over the place here. My phone is probably about 50% pictures of my dogs, 49% pictures of teeny tiny lizards, and 1% pictures I took to see  if my face is doing anything weird and forgot to delete. I just can’t get enough of them. In particular, I’d like you to meet Steve.

I wanted to take a picture of one of the lizards here to send to my dad, because of the aforementioned obsession and fact that I’m very much a Midwestern bumpkin. We have squirrels running around. That’s about it. So I’d been trying a few days to capture one unsuccessfully, and finally when I stepped out from work for lunch, I saw Steve. (After Stone Cold Steve Austin. Geddit? Because… he’s a lizard… and they’re… cold-blooded? Perhaps I should have left my reasoning out of this entirely.)

I crept up on him, because first I wanted to make sure I got *a* picture, then I wanted to work on getting a better picture. I sat down and just stared at him. If he were a person, he would have been creeped out I’m sure. Luckily he’s a lizard and so I don’t think he noticed. Then someone walked by and crushed my life, because he scampered away. I believe my exact text message to husband was “STEVE IS GONE AND MY LIFE IS OVER AND I’LL NEVER LOVE AGAIN.” (Yes, you’d better  believe he was getting the play-by-play of the beginning of mine and Steve’s courtship.) I was crushed.

So imagine my surprise when I came down for lunch the next day, and there was a lizard! Steve! In the same exact spot! It couldn’t be a coincidence. I was so excited I squealed. And he ran away. I sat down, crushed.

Then. I saw him.

Just chilling. He’s so fucking cool, y’all. I know he’s impossible to see, but he’s got his little lizard arm up on the edge and everything. He’s right in the middle of the picture. I stayed as still as possible, hoping no one would pass by and that my overabundance of excitement wouldn’t scare him off. And eventually he came out!

And closer still I crept.

Unfortunately our lunch date needed to end, because I don’t think my boss would take “I was staring at a lizard” as an excuse for coming back late from lunch.

He’s been there four days now, three in a row and then yesterday, always lunch time. I thought about possibly popping in over the weekend to see if he was there.

I told Husband I want to bring him some lettuce, but Husband informs me I would possibly kill him if I feed him and he loses his ability to live in the wild. So, I probably can’t give him any lettuce. But I can stare at him.

(Yes, I know that Steve appears to change his colors and stripes from day-to-day. These lizards can change their color, but I don’t know if they can this dramatically. Look, if we’re going to be friends you’re just going to have to  let me have the delusions that aren’t harming anyone.)

4 Responses to “Say hello to my little friend”

  1. Sarah Pardieck (@NoticeDirt) May 16, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    AH nice to meet you Steve. I hear rumors that many of Steve’s cousins will be in our new place in Hawaii…so I’ll make sure to give them some love too.

    • Cally May 16, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

      Oooo they are very easy to become obsessed with, be careful. Though with everything in Hawaii maybe you’ll avoid the obsession!

  2. squirrel circus May 23, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    I fell in love with those guys on a conference in Miami Beach, many moons ago. I took an excessive (not that you did, of course! ha) number of pictures of them. I love that your husband actually came up with a well-thought out reason not to feed the lizard….as opposed to “only psychos feed wild lizards”, which some husbands might have said (if they were paying attention at all) . I’m sure you already know what a lucky girl you are, tho. 🙂

    • Cally May 23, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

      Oh my, yes. After seven years he’s well versed in the best way to treat my crazy.

Leave a Reply

