Of course you all find my new skin care routine interesting. Right?

7 Jun
Because I never learn my lesson, and because I never leave well enough alone, I went and bought a whole new skincare system. I know, I just vowed I’d never stray again. I couldn’t help thinking that there was a better option out there though. I’ve also been making efforts in general to eat more whole foods, be “green,” cut out chemicals. So I couldn’t help but stare warily at some of the things I’ve been using for personal care. Don’t get me wrong, some unnatural things you’ll have to sedate me to take away (like diet Coke and Doritos) but I’m trying to take some steps, make some movement to the right direction. I thought my skin care routine was as good a place as any to make some changes.

I cobbled this together through extensive research and product reviews on the Sephora site. I must mention that this is a huge step for me, because you’ll notice we’re working with three different brands/product lines here. I am a sucker for things wrapped up neatly in a bow, so if anyone is selling a “system,” I’m usually throwing my money down. That’s left me with a lot of useless products thrown into the trash over the years. This is what I ended up with:

Boscia Clear Complexion Cleanser with Botanical Blast – Sometime back when I was speaking with the Sephora rep who led me away from Clinique (and provided crap in return), she informed me that Clinique face wash didn’t remove makeup. This was a startling fact. I always knew that the toner I used after my face wash, the cotton ball came away horrifying- but I just figured my skin was nonsense. I still can’t really wrap my head about soap that… doesn’t wash? Science definitely failed me there. Now, I don’t know if this face wash removes makeup- I feel like it does, but clearly I’ve been duped before and there’s some stuff going on here that I don’t fully understand. But it’s super foamy and feels like my face is getting clean. I also feel like it’s been doing a good job balancing oil and dryness. I don’t have any of that squeaky-too-clean feeling, no tightness.

Origins High Potency Night-A-Mins – I’ve split my moisturizers into day and night. I feel so grown up. *cougholdcough*. This night moisturizer is super thick,  I feel sort of greasy when I wake up in the morning, but truth be told it’s hard to tell if that’s because of the cream or because I’m just a sweaty mess when I sleep. It hasn’t caused any pore clogging or breakouts, though, and since I wash right when I wake up I haven’t had an issue. The smell is… a little weird. Sort of orangey. You get used to it, but it’s definitely overwhelming at first. I’ve definitely seen an increase in skin brightness since using it.

Origins A Perfect World SPF 25 Age-Defense Moisturizer – I love this mostly because of the fact it’s SPF 25. Sun protection is super important to me, and prior to this I was relying on my foundation. Foundation I didn’t even like, but just kept buying because it offered the highest level of sun protection. Then what happened on days I didn’t wear makeup? This is lightly hydrating and absorbs quickly. It’s great for oily skin,  It also  has the same smell as the Night-A-Mins.

I can’t even pretend that spending a combo of 80 dollars on moisturizer doesn’t hurt me. However, these jars are pretty substantially sized. I’ve been using them both for about two weeks and I feel like I’m still just scraping product off the underside of the lid. I’m pretty sure these will last long enough for me to forget the pain of having to purchase them in the first place, then ensuring I will be buying again.

Fresh Umbrian Clay Treatment Bar – Heavens part. Angels sing. You think that all the reviews you read about this can’t be right, it can’t be that life changing. Everyone must be making it up, drinking the Kool-aid, trying to convince themselves it was okay they spent 40 dollars on a hard block of clay. But they’re all true. I would consider this product one of my best purchases. It is so insanely pore-clearing, so much more effective than any mask or treatment or harsh rippy-out strip I’ve tried in the past. Not to be too graphic, but you can SEE gunk coming to the surface. Tiny spots of oil and blackheads pulled up to the surface. It’s grossly amazing. The pores on my nose are visibly smaller, which is a feat I haven’t been able to accomplish in almost 15 years of beauty-product attempts. The overall tone, texture, and clarity of my skin is improved. I want to start sleeping with it at night instead of my pillow pet (shutup). Per Sephora’s website, I think some people actually use this as a cleanser- I implore you, please don’t. I think it would be way too harsh and eventually backfire on you. I’m not even sure how they use it that way, to be honest. It’s definitely a treatment mask, it just looks like soap. I started use about every other day, the goal is to cut down to twice a week. And again, I get the feeling this is probably going to last a really long time. My bar barely looks used.

It’s hard to pin-point exactly which of these products is responsible for the reduction in break-outs that I’ve seen, since I started all of them at once. I don’t even care though, I’m just happy to see some results.

I need to add in a spot treatment for those breakouts that just. won’t. die. I’d also like to add in some sort of eye cream for wrinkle-prevention/dark eye-circle reduction. I think after that, I’ll have put together a routine I think is pretty effective and fitting for my skin. (Then it will all be discontinued and I’ll have to start over, but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.) After that, I can devote more energy to important pursuits, like curing cancer or something. Or finding where Husband hid the Doritos. To be fair, I told him to hide them so I wouldn’t demolish them, but I am so going to yell at him so hard for listening to me when he gets home.

Any recommendations?
2 Responses to “Of course you all find my new skin care routine interesting. Right?”

  1. squirrel circus June 8, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    You had me at smaller nose pores! Although my skin is relatively clear, I swear you can see China through my pores. I love Sephora (almost as much as bookstores…..second-hand makeup would definitely be scary – ha ha) and haven’t been in a while. Two relatively cheap products that I like for spot treatments would be The Body Shop Tea Tree Blemish Gel and Neutrogena Blemish Concealer (choice of shades, too!). The latter is a great cover up, which is nice, but the tea tree works a little better at killing the bacteria in an icky spot — IMO (psst — the Body Shop also has a whole tea tree LINE…just sayin’ LOL).

    • Cally June 9, 2012 at 7:16 am #

      I love The Body Shop!! If everything smelled like Satsuma I think the world would be a better place. I’ll definitely have to check their tea tree stuff out.

Leave a Reply

