Tell me what to do about my hair?

11 Jun

The Florida humidity is really kicking my ass, hair-wise. I just have no idea how to deal with it. I figured it would just be like normal summers I’m used to, all of the time. Illinois and Michigan get pretty humid. It’s nothing like that, though. Everything is hot and sticky and heavy in a way I couldn’t have even pretended to understand until I moved here.

I want a shorter cut, but…. I’ve spent so long growing it out. Three years at least. I covet long hair so deeply when my hair is anything near shoulder length. Then I have long hair and I turn crazy and chop it all off. Then, usually, I cry. A lot. Because I’ve had some ba-aa-ad short hair cuts.

Oh, 2007. You make me… so, so sad. I took a picture of Sarah Jessica Parker (As Ms. Bradshaw) after she got her hair cut super short and it was adorable. This… was like that in no way. I literally looked at it and cried. I couldn’t even pretend for the stylist. I’m pretty sure I scarred her for life.

I have also had some shorter hair cuts that didn’t make me want to be a hermit for six months until it all grew back.

I don’t even think this can be considered short, though. Maybe it’s enough to combat the humid, sweaty mess it currently turns into after about five minutes outside?

This is what it looks like with bangs I stole from Zooey Deschanel. (Me and seven million other brunettes, no?)

This is what it looks like now. (And what my birthday cupcake looked like. Yum.) The bangs are too long so I push them over. The hair gets straightened but it forgets that near midday. It’s a whole lot of nothing.

I feel like I could go either way with it, but until something pushes me one way or the other I’m just going to keep living in nothing land. Since I’m indecisive, this would possibly mean that I might not get my hair cut until it reaches the floor. And that would be horrible.

Help? Opinions?

7 Responses to “Tell me what to do about my hair?”

  1. The Waiting June 11, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    You seem to be one of those people who can pretty much rock any hairstyle, and I kind of hate you for it 😉 Seriously, though, if you are fearless, why not try chopping it off? I went super short a really long time ago and I never regretted it.

    • Cally June 11, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

      Awww, thanks! I think maybe I should just go in and tell them to take it all off before I change my mind. It’s likely I’ll flounder in uncertainty for a while first though.

  2. squirrel circus June 11, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    I think you look terrific in shorter hair — I actually LIKE the first picture a lot (Please don’t let the fact that it made you cry cause you to question my taste!!) Perhaps a longer in the front, shorter in the back bob-type thingy? My hair has been super short for decades, but I’ve been growing the front a little longer lately…it’s almost headband length (of course, when I finally achieve that, I will be reminded of why I don’t like headbands and the way that they pinch your head). On second thought, maybe you SHOULD question my judgement – I clearly have hair issues….HA

    • Cally June 11, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

      Maybe it was just the graduating from college that made me cry. It was just not at all what I wanted. Maybe I need to give short a go again.

      And headbands are tools of the devil, at times, no matter how cute.

  3. Sarah Pardieck (@NoticeDirt) June 13, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    Okay, so shorter hair will not help with the humidity, even though you look very cute with shorter hair. It’s a steam room up here in NC too and my hair is very reactive to muggy so here’s how I deal: I keep my hair long because the weight of it keeps it from getting to poofy and I put a lil argan oil (or any other oil) in my hands, rub ’em together and work all through my hair on really humid days. It doesn’t stay straightened that way (I flat iron too) but at least it stays mostly down. Otherwise, I just put it up. SO, I suggest keeping it long – maybe add some layers or such? I have mine thinned in the middle too…

    • Cally June 13, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

      Oh man. I just assumed short hair was the answer. I didn’t even think it might make things worse. I’ve been meaning to try that oil. Good as time as any I suppose. Thanks for the rec!

  4. Kimberly Montgomery June 30, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    Hey There. I honestly don’t have good advice. I do know that I used to do the exact same thing…grow my hair out and cut it. But I cut it right before it was at the really cool long length. I usually liked my short hair…until I tried to grow it out again.
    I say embrace your waives and/or curls.

Leave a Reply

