Random thoughts on a Monday

18 Jun

Because random is all I can handle right now. We decided to get on board with Falling Skies, and the premiere was last night. So on Saturday, we bought season one. And then that was Saturday night. And Sunday. And I’m tired, and dreaming about fighting along side Tom Mason and the 2nd Mass when I actually do sleep. Which is not exactly restful because aliens scare the shit out of me.

* * * * *

Would it be overly neurotic of me to set aside some pictures that my friends and family should pass along to the authorities in case I’m ever missing? Not that I hope to ever go missing, but if I am ever missing and they need to post my picture on the news for people to help find me, I’d really like it to be a flattering picture. I don’t necessarily need something all photoshopped and dolled up, but at least a nice candid. Because if I’m ever found, I want to be able to still like the people who turned in the picture, and I’m very likely to hold a grudge if someone gives the candid from college where I pulled my socks up to my knees, wearing short-shorts and giving a Borat-esque thumbs up. That’s unforgivable.

* * * * *

When I came home today I had to kill a bug. When I agreed to the move to Florida, Husband agreed to take care of Any and All Bugs. Since it never gets cold there’s tons of bugs here, and they get all mutant giant because they don’t die in frosts like all normal bugs. And sometimes they slip in. And in my bathroom was one that was about five feet long. So I grabbed our all-natural pet-safe bug kill spray (because I was pretty sure I couldn’t squish it without an ax of some sort) and emptied half the bottle on it. And then I had to dispose of it. And I’m pretty sure that it’s family is going to retaliate and crawl into my mouth while I sleep.

* * * * *

In May, I went to the gym at least 3 times a week. One week I got up to 5. June? I’ve been twice. The entire month. Why is motivation always waxing and waning? I could go every day for six years and I miss one day and I fall into a black hole. In fact, I told myself I would go to the gym tonight, but instead I’m eating tortilla chips to recover from my bug encounter.

* * * * *

When I left for work this morning it was 75 out, and I thought, Wow, it’s cold today. And then I killed myself for being an idiot. I’m writing to you from beyond. When I go back to Michigan to visit in October, it’s probably going to eat me.

6 Responses to “Random thoughts on a Monday”

  1. The Waiting June 18, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    I have thought the same thing about pictures for the authorities so many times. I guess we are both morbid and neurotic.

    • Cally June 19, 2012 at 9:42 am #

      I prefer to think of it as just good sensr. I mean, if im missing my family will be sad and maybe not in the right mind to choose and appropriate picture. I’m just helping, is all…

  2. recipeforabeautifullife June 19, 2012 at 6:57 am #

    I am not great with bug killing either. Unfortuantely my husband isn’t much better, so I end up having to be the executioner a lot of the time. I had to resort to hairspraying one to death recently.

    • Cally June 19, 2012 at 9:44 am #

      Hairspray has so many uses. I usually go for it when things have wings, but this did not so i was afraid it would just end up a sticky evil being.

  3. Nikki June 19, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    I feel the same way about the gym! I can be on a huge roll with going and then I miss once and it’s like starting from square one. let’s motivate each other! Or get with Brie because she’s obviously kicking ass and taking names right now!

    • Cally June 19, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      I know, Brie is doing amazing and that’s partly what reminded me I suck. The .plan is to go tonight! Back on track! Accountability!!

Leave a Reply

