Tale as old as time

20 Jun

I know time and time again, girls have whined about this and boys haven’t listened. I can’t help it though, I’m compelled to complain about it. What is up with the beeping at girl pedestrians, dudes? Who taught you how to do this, and why haven’t you stopped already?I’m about 99.9 percent positive that no girl has ever thanked you for this behavior.

Living in Chicago, walking everywhere, I don’t think I had to deal with this once. Maybe it was the fact there’s too many pedestrians. Maybe the fact that traffic basically crawled, so if you embarrassed yourself with the beeping you couldn’t make a fast getaway. I don’t know for sure, but I do know that I’d gotten used to it, so much so that I didn’t even remember it was a thing that happened in the world.

Then I moved.

I walk about 3.5 miles total a day, to and from work, on major streets. I am beeped/shouted at anywhere from 2 to 6 times a trip. I ignore because there’s really no proper response. And that’s the problem with the whole thing. There’s no response. You’re not going to get anything from me, be it my telephone number or a punch to the face. So why? Is it funny? It’s not because I’m pretty, because you’ve seen me for all of two seconds while you speed by, and also my 60 year old grandma used to get beeped at, too. It’s not a compliment, and sometimes it’s downright scary. If the car slows down in any way I’m pretty much convinced I’m going to get kidnapped. One time a semi truck beeped at me while we were under the overpass, and I honestly thought I was going to die, it was so loud. I’m a big fan of knowing the motivation behind an action, and I simply can’t wrap my hear around this one. Hence, it is not a legit course of action.

I think we, as a society, need to cut this shit out. It’s not funny, it’s not cute, and sometimes it’s terrifying. And it gets neither of us anywhere.

3 Responses to “Tale as old as time”

  1. squirrel circus June 20, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    I think it must be a lot like that dog in the movie “UP” who’s chatting away and suddenly says, “Squirrel!” Totally that kind of primitive instinct. Start carrying a spray bottle of water….or an empty soda can filled with gravel that you can shake at them. Rumor has it that men are, in fact, trainable. 😉

  2. Sarah Pardieck (@NoticeDirt) June 22, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Preach! Honking at me while I walk along is a good way to make me hate you without even knowing you. It’s just an extension of the pitifully obvious leering habit most men have too. Honestly, we ladies check out guys and seem to be able to do it without being obvious, so what the heck is wrong with the guys? Both ridiculous behaviors.

    • Cally June 22, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      So true! We are much more subtle in our checking out. But that’s probably because we’re not “supposed” to do it.

Leave a Reply

